• String Quartet No. 13 in D Minor D.810 "Death and the Maiden"
  • Quartettsatz in C Minor D.703

Jerusalem Quartet wins ECHO Classic Award 2009 in the category "Best chamber music recording of the year (19th century, strings)"

Their Harmonia Mundi recording of Franz Schubert's Death and the Maiden and Quartettsatz D.703 picked up the prize, which will be awarded in a televised Gala ceremony in Dresden's Semperoper, on 18 October 2009.

"Sei guten Muts, ich bin nicht wild, sollst sanft in meinen Armen schlafen"

'Be comforted! I am not cruel; sleep in peace in my arms', murmurs Death to the Maiden in a song written in 1817, seven years before the quartet to which it gave its name and which has since become one of the pillars of the repertoire. Here is a new challenge for the members of the Jerusalem Quartet, whose most recent incursion into Romantic territory (with Dvorák's 'American' Quartet) received exceptional praise from Le Monde de la Musique for 'its virtuosity, its vitality, its energetic, buoyant phrasing'. 


  • ECHO Klassik 2009
  • Editor's Choice Gramophone
  • Diapason d'Or
  • Chamber Music Disc of the Month-BBC Music Magazine
  • ClassicsToday.com
  • Best Recording of 2008-Classic FM Magazine
  • The Best of 2008-IONARTS


Released: May 13, 2008
Catalog Num: HMC901990