• String Quartet Op. 96 in F Major "American"
  • Piano Quintet Op. 81 
  • with Stefan Vladar, piano

Two supreme masterpieces! Composed in a single burst of inspiration at the end of the summer of 1887.

Dvorák's Piano Quintet op.81, like most of his late chamber pieces, reflects 'the lucid mind of the artist and his profundity of soul, with all his emotions and moods' (Otakar Sourek). Seven years later, it was Boston that heard the first performance of the 'American' Quartet, one of the composer's most appealing works. It was written in just sixteen days.

Released: June 13, 2006
Catalog Num: HMC901899